**Deborah B. Goldberg** *Chairman, State Treasurer* 

James A. MacDonald Chief Executive Officer **John K. McCarthy** *Executive Director / Deputy CEO* 

November 5, 2020

Thomas F. Maloney Chairman, Norwood Board of Selectmen Norwood Town Hall 566 Washington Street, 2nd Floor, Room 34 Norwood, MA 02062

**RE: Designer Selection** 

Dr. Philip O. Coakley Middle School

MSBA ID: 201802200305

Dear Mr. Maloney:

On Tuesday, November 3, 2020, the Massachusetts School Building Authority Designer Selection Panel ("DSP") reviewed and considered (6) applicants for the above-referenced project. The following individuals represented the Town of Norwood on the DSP:

- Dr. David Thomson, Superintendent, Norwood Public Schools
- Teresa Stewart, Chair, Norwood School Committee Member
- Alan Slater, Chair, Norwood School Building Committee

In accordance with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 7C, Sections 44 through 58, and the MSBA Designer Selection Procedures, the DSP voted unanimously to invite the following applicants to be interviewed before the DSP:

- Ai3 Architects LLC
- Dore & Whittier Architects, Inc.
- Miller Dyer Spears Inc.

The purpose of these interviews is for the DSP to further review each applicant's qualifications for this project. It is expected that, at the conclusion of the interviews, the DSP will rank these finalists in order of qualifications. Interviews are scheduled for Tuesday, November 17, 2020 beginning at 8:30 A.M. via video conference.

Please be advised that all communication to and from the applicants regarding this potential project must go through Marie Deslauriers, MSBA DSP Administrator (marie.deslauriers@massschoolBuildings.org) and Karl Brown, MSBA Design Director (karl.brown@massschoolbuildings.org). Other than those named above, individual DSP Members, including the District members of the DSP, are prohibited from contacting or

communicating in any way with any applicant regarding this potential project except during an officially convened meeting of the Designer Selection Panel.

Sincerely,

Karl Brown, AIA Design Director

cc: Legislative Delegation

Japa Braum.

Tony Mazzucco, Norwood General Manager

Dr. David Thomson, Superintendent, Norwood Public Schools

Alan Slater, Chair, Norwood School Building Committee

Teresa Stewart, Chair, Norwood School Committee

Brian Jarvis, Compass Project Management, Inc.

James Jordan, Ai3 Architects LLC

Donald Walter, Dore & Whittier Architects, Inc.

Will Spears, Miller Dyer Spears Inc.

Gene Raymond, Raymond Design Associates, Inc.

Richard Polvino, The S/L/A/M Collaborative

Samuel Lasky, William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc.

Brian Jarvis, Owner's Project Manager, Compass Project Management, Inc.

Christina Forde, MSBA Project Manager

File: 4.3 Feasibility Study Architect (*Region 2*)